Academic Year Group 10 & 11

Key Stage 4 – IGCSE Years 10 and 11

At the end of Year 9, students study the 7 compulsory core subjects, they can then choose 4 additional subjects to focus on for their IGCSE’s which continue across Years 10 and 11 (Key Stage 4). Here at King Henry VIII College, we follow the highly respected, and internationally recognised Cambridge Assessment International Education (CAIE) programme. By the end of year 11, students will have worked towards achieving top grades in their International General Certificate in Secondary Education (IGCSEs).

The choices you make at IGCSE should not be taken lightly, it is a time to consider what career you might choose beyond school. In order to do this you need to have serious conversations with your tutor, subject teachers and of course your family, all of whom can guide and support you with your choices.

At King Henry VIII College, you will normally study between 8 and 10 IGCSEs. These are split into the ‘Core’ and ‘Optional’ subjects.

The 7 Core compulsory subjects for IGCSE

  • Mathematics with Additional Mathematics on offer
  • Bahasa Melayu
  • Sciences - Biology / Chemistry / Physics
  • English Language with English Literature on offer
  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education (PSHE)
  • Students will also have games sessions to further aid their well-being and fitness

Optional subjects for IGCSE (Students choose 4)

  • Geography
  • Photography
  • Computer Science
  • Physical Education
  • Mandarin / French / Spanish
  • Art
  • Music
  • Drama
  • History